MathGroup Archive 2012

[Date Index] [Thread Index] [Author Index]

Search the Archive

Best Book for Learning/Implementing Statistics and Probability Using Mathematica?

• To: mathgroup at smc.vnet.net
  • Subject: [mg129141] Best Book for Learning/Implementing Statistics and Probability Using Mathematica?
  • Date: Tue, 18 Dec 2012 02:35:10 -0500 (EST)
  • Delivered-to: l-mathgroup@mail-archive0.wolfram.com
  • Delivered-to: l-mathgroup@wolfram.com
  • Delivered-to: mathgroup-newout@smc.vnet.net
  • Delivered-to: mathgroup-newsend@smc.vnet.net

I am a relatively novice Mathematica user having now used the product about 2 years.  Presently, I am in critical need to learn how better to apply Mathematica's statistical and probability tools, but find myself having difficulty in working solely from the documentation center and on line resources.

In particular, I seek to learn how to perform hypothesis testing using an ANCOVA model for multiple groups and application of the Johnson-Neyman and potentially related procedures for those comparisons in which the slopes for multiple groups are not homogeneous. Designs of most interest to me, fortunately, only involve one covariate, although it would be helpful to underst and how to analyze situations involving multiple covariates.  Also, I need to learn how Mathematica can be used to establish confidence limits and critical values for Bonferroni F-tables and Sheffe-like tests to establish experiment-wide error rates for such comparison tests. 

Ideally, I would like to be able to program simple pure functions that would run such multiple-group comparisons for easy use in routine "production-level" analysis of data.  Until now, I have used another system to perform these kinds of analyses and tests, but seek to implement this in the context of functional programming and within the broader framework of tools and functions available in Mathematica.